Wise Investments

Ezekiel 16:16 “You used the lovely things I gave you to make shrines for idols, where you played the prostitute. Unbelievable! How could such a thing ever happen?”

My thoughts: The moment I read this verse, I thought to myself “What am I doing with what God has given me?” Am I using the talents and gifts He has blessed me with for His glory or am I using them to build up my own reputation? Am I using what He has blessed me with to direct others to Him and reflect His image, or am I instead creating a glorified image of myself that leads people away from Him? Jerusalem robbed God of the glory He deserved by using what He blessed them with to create idols “lovely” in their eyes. They worshipped the “statues of men” (v.17) and dressed them in “beautifully embroidered clothes” (v.18) This made them feel accepted in a culture of idolatry. For some reason they thought that when God blessed them, it was alright to compromise. They weren’t fruitful with what He blessed them with and didn’t bring Him a reward for His investment. God desires to prosper every one of us. The question is, what are we doing with what He has already given us? Are we taking the lovely things He has blessed us with to make ourselves more lovely or are we using them to be a blessing for His glory? If we aren’t doing anything with what He has given us, why would He invest any more in us until we change our ways? When we take what God intended for His glory and use it for our own, we put ourselves in a messy situation. While God isn’t stingy, He also doesn’t make foolish investments. May we be faithful with what He invests in us.

Leave a Reply

