God’s Acceptance, Not Mine

John 5:41,42 “Your approval means nothing to me, because I know you don’t have God’s love within you.”

My thoughts: Jesus was not looking for approval from the religious leaders, and wasn’t going to compromise His message to make them feel good about themselves. He didn’t come expecting everyone to accept Him, but was joyful when people did. His ultimate goal was to carry out His Father’s will and bring salvation to everyone. Jesus wasn’t going to stop what He was doing just because someone didn’t approve of Him. I don’t care if people accept me, I just want them to accept God. In fact, I don’t want people to see me when I do anything, but see Jesus in me when I do everything. If people disapprove of what I am doing, I will seek wisdom from those I trust and double check to see if what I am doing lines up with the Word of God, (not because I care about people accepting me, but people accepting God. If I am supposed to be an ambassador, I want to look like the One I am representing.. which will only happen by His grace). If what I say or do doesn’t line up with His Word, I will repent and ask God to enable me to overcome what has hindered. If it does, I will keep living an uncompromised lifestyle.

Leave a Reply

