Dying to ourselves

From this day on, I will be daily posting my thoughts on scripture. My thoughts include what I believe the verse is saying and how we as Christians can apply it to our lives. I desire for these posts to impact many people for the Glory of God. Here is today’s scripture and my thoughts:

Matthew 16:24 Then Jesus said to his disciples, “If any of you wants to be my follower, you must turn from your selfish ways, take up your cross, and follow me.”

My thoughts: Taking up our cross is dying to ourselves on a daily basis and receiving the new life that God has for us. God desires for us to narrow our life until all that we are belongs to Him. If we don’t give up who we are and embrace a new life in Christ, we won’t ever become who we are supposed to be. Everyone has potential, just not everyone is willing to die to themselves. May we allow God to kill any selfish way that grips our hearts. It’s easy to say we are a Christian, yet never die to ourselves and allow Him to transform us. Let’s take up our cross and follow Him. Where He leads is only good.

Leave a Reply

